The Wiles of the Devil

Chuck Lawless, dean of the School of Missions, Evangelism, and Church Growth at the Southern Baptist Theological Seminary, offers seven strategies that he would use against church leaders if he were Satan. His insights are thought-provoking.

1. I would attack those who are most gifted . . . by reminding them that they are gifted.
2. I would encourage leaders to talk about accountability . . . but not be personally accountable to anyone.
3. I would challenge leaders to emphasize spiritual disciplines . . . but only for others.
4. I would focus the leader’s attention on tomorrow . . . rather than today.
5. I would encourage ministry by e-mail . . . especially with those of the opposite gender.
6. I would not hinder ministry success . . . as long as “success” results in few changed lives.
7. I would stress failure . . . and then lead the church to do the same.

You can read the entire post here.

HT: Andy Naselli.

This entry was posted in Christian Living. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Wiles of the Devil

  1. Adam Bailie says:

    Good stuff, Matt. Painfully true…and painfully obvious…but painfully ignored! Thanks.

  2. Very interesting, Matt. Too many of those hit far too close to home.I am sorry that I missed you last week at T4G. I would have loved to fellowship with the guys from Heritage again. Grace and peace to you.

Leave a Reply

