The Pastor’s Day Off

How can a pastor spend his day off? A friend of mine who pastors in a large city and whose wife works a full-time job recently posed that question to me. Here’s what I told him:

  • Read. I’m talking pleasure reading here. I read the Harry Potter series last year and loved it. I’m reading Larry Bird and Magic Johnson’s book, When the Game was Ours, right now. The last book I finished was Malcolm Gladwell’s latest, What the Dog Saw. Find something you like to read and enjoy.
  • Explore. OK, so I’m talking like a suburbanite right now, but there have got to be places in the city that you haven’t seen/explored yet. I’m not a big museum person, but I don’t know if I’d be able to live in ___ and not be exposed to some of those places. Then again, you might want to wait for Saturdays to do that with your wife–totally understandable. But maybe there are other places you want to explore.
  • Eat. Not, like, incessantly. I’m thinking of meeting your wife for her lunch break. Not sure what her situation is, but maybe you could pack a lunch and take it to her workroom during her break. Even if it’s only half an hour, it’ll be worth it.
  • Visit. See if there are other pastors who take the same day off as well. Schedule a coffee with them and pray for one another–no church business allowed!
  • Catch up. Don’t feel guilty for reading a backlog of RSS feeds from the week. I’m constantly behind in that area. Use some of your day off to play catch-up.
  • Exercise. Find something you enjoy doing and do it.
  • Write. Journal about anything and everything: what happened over the weekend, the date you and your wife went on, a memory from when you were a kid. Write, write, write. One day your kids will thank you that you did.

What would you add to the list?

This entry was posted in Pastoral Ministry. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Pastor’s Day Off

  1. Day off? Dude, the DEVIL doesn't take a day off. Why should you?:)I try to think of my day off less as my day (for hunting, golf, etc.) and more as my family's day (helping around the house, snuggling, playing with the girls, etc.). I'm not always good at it, but that's the goal. And it's pretty sacred. My going out with another pastor, for example, wouldn't be a good thing. 🙂

  2. Chris,Sandy McCormick said that it looks like you've found your next song title: "The Devil Doesn't Take a Day Off." Matt LaCava was thinking it'd be a nice Southern Gospel tune. :)This friend doesn't have any children. Any further advice for him?Blessings!Matthew

  3. David Crabb says:

    I spend my day off driving along random roads looking for buffalo or a huge–literally, a big apple.

Leave a Reply

