Another Christian Athlete on the Big Stage

I am not a Chicago White Sox fan. The Sox have been a nemesis for my Detroit Tigers all my life. Kimberly’s whole family consists of Sox fans, and our current intern at First is such a die-hard that, once while visiting his family, he had the audacity to serve me coffee in a White Sox mug. Having friends and family who are thus infected has at least given me some measure of gladness when they do well. But I’m not a fan.

I am, however, a fan of believers on the big stage, no matter their uniform.

And today, a Chicago White Sox pitcher, Phil Humber, tossed a perfect game–only the 21st in the history of Major League Baseball (unless you count Armando Galarraga’s blown-call perfect game from a couple of years ago). I just learned that Phil is a Christian brother.

Let us pray that our great Christ who raised Phil up from his spiritual death would use him as an instrument to reach others with the life-giving message of the Gospel.

This entry was posted in Sports and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

