The King and His Intervention: The Oracle about Damascus, Cush, and the Nations

Where is God in the midst of my disappointments?

photo courtesy of leading men only

Why hasn’t He allowed me to marry or have children? Why do my projects consistently fall short of my own expectations? Why did God put me in this job when I have so much more to offer? Why hasn’t God given me the flexibility to retire yet? Why hadn’t I fulfilled my dreams of traveling? Why are my ministry efforts so fruitless?

Or maybe worse: why have I achieved everything I wanted, but still feel so empty?

Isaiah 17–18 tells us where God is and what He is doing in circumstances like these. Listen, and find the hope He holds out to us in our disappointment.

Title: The King and His Intervention: The Oracle about Damascus, Cush, and the Nations

Text: Isaiah 17–18

Overview: what God is doing in our disappointment

  • reversing what we flipped
  • revealing where he is
  • becoming what we want

Resources

This entry was posted in Sermon Notes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

