Light of the World—TLC version

artwork by Jon Eger of Ottoman Creative Group

Some of you know that I wrote a song earlier this year to go along with our church’s theme for 2016, “Light of the World.” We’ve sung it a number of times as a congregation, and I think it’s catching on.

But we haven’t sung it like this before.

In July I was honored to speak at the Teen Leadership Conference hosted by Clarks Summit University (formerly Baptist Bible College in Clarks Summit, PA). The worship director, David Harris, and I have been friends for a few years, so I sent him “Light of the World” to see what his band might come up with.

What they did was amazing. I absolutely love it, so I recorded it on my phone the last time we sang it that week. Wish the quality were better, but you’ll get the idea. If I manage to get a better recording, I’ll post it.

My thanks to the band (David Harris, Kyle Sparks, John Mark Amos, Megan Miller, Katherine Grosvenor, Matt Snyder, and Luke Peterson) and to the audio-visual team (Jack Coleman, Ryan Buchanan, and Jesse Dreyer) for their work.

And of course to D-wight for the invitation to speak. It’s always a delight.

You can listen to their version of “Light of the World” here. And if you’re interested in singing it in your church, you can download the lead sheet here.

This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Light of the World—TLC version

  1. Donna Stephenson says:

    Thanks for sharing!! How exciting to hear this arrangement and all those young voices singing!

    From: Debtor to Grace Reply-To: Debtor to Grace Date: Tuesday, September 20, 2016 at 9:05 AM To: Donna Stephenson Subject: [New post] Light of the World‹TLC version

    WordPress.com Matthew Hoskinson posted: ” Some of you know that I wrote a song earlier this year to go along with our church’s theme for 2016, “Light of the World.” We’ve sung it a number of times as a congregation, and I think it’s catching on. But we haven’t sung it like this before. “

Leave a Reply

